Posted by: Ana-Anita Simpson | March 14, 2009

Eating Healthy-Being pesticide savvy.

I love veggies! I’m always looking for new ways to fix them. Finding new ways to cook them and still keep them semi-crunchy is sometimes a stretch. When I buy I try to buy organic, when they are available. Continually, I question what chemicals have been used on or in my food? My wish is for a way to tell which of the pesticides may have been used on my veggies.

TA…DA… (poof of smoke here) My wish is granted….. Well sort of . The Environmental Working Group has a list- “The Most to The Least” of  pesticide laden vegetables and fruits. The link to the site and its explanation is here-

http://www.foodnews.org/methodology.php

also click on “full list” at the top of the food news page, for all the veggies and fruits on the list.

This list is helpful for people making food choices that are low in pesticides. Pesticides can contribute to cancer, diabetes, reproductive and hormone disruptive disorders.


Responses

  1. I’m still troubled by the idea that some vegetables are “safe” to eat even with pesticides used on the plants. It tells too many consumers that conventional broccoli is okay, when really any amount of pesticides hurt the environment. I think it is a great initiative, but should have a disclaimer that pesticides systematically hurt our health no matter how much pesticides are on the end product.

  2. Your very right! I agree we need to have disclaimers/info on fruits and veggies telling the types of pesticides used on them. It would really make people aware of the scope of chemical use on our food. It would also make the crop producers think about what they would have to put on such a label-which hopefully would make pesticide use less. Hopefully one day! If we keep talking and shouting fronm the roof tops! LoL… Anyway, This article by, The Environmental Working Group, is just a starting point for people to think about when they buy veggies/fruits that are not organic.


Leave a comment

Categories